“You’re Never Weird on the Internet (Almost!)” Book Review

This was not today’s planned blog post, in fact it has been far too long since I wrote a blog post at all. Although my last one was about how I won’t be posting as much, I didn’t intend for that to be quite so infrequent as it has been. But as ever, life has been seeming to get in the way of me doing anything that I actually enjoy lately unfortunately, but I’m back. For now at least.23705512

I have just recently finished Felicia Day’s memoir “You’re Never Weird on the Internet (Almost!) and I just had to tell the world about it. I am never normally someone who reads biographies as I generally don’t find them too interesting. Nothing against the genre, but I’m just not a fan – I am a fiction lover through and through! I have however, always been a fan of Felicia Day and have followed most of her work religiously, where I can at least. I made my way through The Guild in one day and as soon as I saw that she had been cast in one of my favourite shows Supernatural, well I nearly died! So obviously, as soon as I saw that she had written a book, I knew that I had to read it.

It came out a while ago, however I have never really had the spare time (or money for that matter!) to be able to pick up a copy, however I found a cheap copy online and decided to treat myself. My God am I glad that I did. I have never related so much to a book in my life, Felicia is so honest and open about her battle with anxiety and depression she genuinely had me in tears at points. It felt so nice the-guild-cast-cosplay-felicia-dayto hear that I am not alone with how I am feeling all of the time.

Although I know that there are plenty of people who suffer with anxiety and other mental illnesses, hell I dedicated an entire YouTube channel to talking about such things! But I have never really heard someone talk about their own personal feelings in such open and frank terms. She tells the reader all about how she demands perfection of herself and her desire for constant good grades had me laughing out loud at the memory of my own endless battle for high achievement as a child!

I have never been able to allow myself to settle for anything less than the best and still have a constant need for praise and the affirmation that I am doing well and what I am doing is right! It was so refreshing to hear her own experience with these feelings as it made me feel a lot less alone – and the fact that she tells it in her usual hilarious way is just the added bonus.6gukoxre

Whether you a Felicia fan or not, I highly recommend that you give this book a try – especially the proud geeks among you! If you do, I’d love to know what you thought of it as well! Happy reading 🙂

Leave a Reply

