Tidy Room, Tidy Mind

When you are surrounded by mess it can be very difficult for you to look past the physical, with clothes and junk everywhere – it isn’t really helping you to focus! Personally, when my head is all over the place and I am seriously struggling, then the last thing I need is to be surrounded by mess and chaos. I don’t know about you, but if everything is all over the place then I really do have to battle with myself to keep my thoughts in check.tumblr_nkcrsaappy1sm3t8zo1_1280

When I am manic or down, then my mind is racing past me at a mile a minute and so it really helps me to have at least one thing that is constant, to bring a bit of order to my life! If you are sleeping in an untidy room then you are surrounding yourself with chaos and unnecessary clutter, in a space that is supposed to be your sanctuary, a space that you can relax in. It’s no wonder you can’t sleep!

Realistically, how can you hope to control your mind when you can’t even manage to motivate yourself to pick up last week’s pants?! I am fully aware that I am starting to sound like your mother, demanding that you look after the space you are living in as if your life depends on it, and I’m sorry if I’m bringing back stressful memories(!) But in a way, it kind of does. Your quality of life I mean, okay, maybe that’s a bit of a stretch but hear me out before you right me off.tidy_room_tidy_mind_by_reddphoenix78-d5782su

Shit is going to happen and we are surrounded by suffering to some degree throughout every day of our lives, why wouldn’t you want to control the one bit of chaos that you actually can by keeping your own space organised? I am in no way suggesting that you need to be on your hands and knees every day scrubbing the floors and dusting the spindles – this is not Cinderella! But picking up after yourself as you go, just little things, will really help. Finished with that cup of tea? Put it in the sink instead of leaving it on the side for the impossible trek downstairs with all of the forgotten cups and plates etc. as we all know that this is the true walk of shame!

So, I suppose what I am trying to get across here with this short post is if you learn to control your space then your mind will soon follow…. or at least try to. Mine likes to put up a fight.

Leave a Reply

