Body Hair Vs. Feminism

Should we keep our unshaven arms down when we are in public? Should it be compulsory for us to forcefully rip the hair out of our vaginas before a date? Should an unshaven leg be kept hidden? The hardcore feminist in you may very well be screaming “NO!” while circling her bra, still aflame, above her head in an angry rage…but is that really for the best?

We are always told how we are surrounded by media images of hairless women (and yes, we are), after studies estimate that we are exposed to up to 5,000 adverts in an average day and we all know that sex sells! We are told that these adverts are only here to satisfy the male gaze…but is it really? Body hair is an extremely personal choice, and it should remain just that – a choice. Some people like body hair, and others don’t – both are perfectly okay!

Personally, I am not a fan of body hair on myself and so I choose to remove it, however I feel extremely judged by certain “feminists”. But that is just it, if these people are judging someone for making themselves feel better because they have decided that the person is too stupid to understand why they are really doing it – then they are NOT feminists! I am a proud feminist and think the movement it amazing but it is definitely not what these so called ‘feminists’ believe it to be.8a973331ca88b8e10627641ff67b254a

Feminism is NOT “screw over all men at all costs (and any women who try to please them), all hail fellow woman kind! Come to me sisters lets walk around naked while our pubes float around freely in the breeze!” No. It’s about equality and it is all about encouraging expression and freedom of choice, and that includes my choice to remove my body hair! Nobody is forcing me to do this, I am not pushed up against my bathroom sink with a razor pressed up against my leg by the patriarchy. I don’t do this to comply to a social norm, and I sure as hell don’t do this to gain the approval or some man – or woman, I’m greedy!

I just simply prefer how I look without body hair and feel much more confident and comfortable without it. It makes me rage that certain people don’t seem to accept that I know why I am doing this, and act as though I am just too stupid to understand the true motivations behind it. Single or loved up – I am removing my body hair as I feel more confident about myself when I do – just as some people do when it comes to wearing make up. At the same time, I certainly don’t judge anyone else for choosing to tumblr_n3k4t37js01qcyba0o1_250keep theirs – what the hell does it have to do with me what they decide to do to themselves?! It is quite frankly nobody else’s business, and if anyone looks down on me for braving the shave then it is certainly not very feminist of them. Sorry for ranting, what do you guys think? 🙂

 

Leave a Reply

